may 2015 birchbox review

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewYou might be looking at your calendar and saying ‘Bekkie, why are you posting about the May Birchbox on the last day of June’ and to that I say… I totally forgot about it. But I didn’t get one this month because of my no-buy, so I figured I would still put this up.

For May, Birchbox Canada partnered with Emily Shuman (lifestyle blogger over at Cupcakes and Cashmere) – though I’m really not sure how much of that partnering goes in to the actual items, or if it’s just the box design and note card. There was nothing overly exciting in the box, but I do like the items and they will come in handy for traveling this summer. Here’s what I got:

Paid: $15.00
Approximate Value: $30.00

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewMay 2015 Birchbox ReviewMay 2015 Birchbox Review

Number 4™ Non-Aerosol Hairspray
30 ml | $5.00 (Full Size – 200 ml | $34.00)

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewBIRCHBOX BREAKDOWN
It’s rare to find a hairspray that’s great for our hair and the environment. This non-aerosol mist fits the mold: it’s full of natural botanicals to nourish strands, and it provides the strong yet flexible hold you need to tame flyaways and support updos. Best of all, the earth-friendly formula doesn’t contain any harmful chemicals.

HOW IT WORKS
Styling resins provide flexible hold and shine while humidity resistance technology reduces frizz, even on the hottest summer days. Heliogenol protects colored and untreated hair against free radical damage. All Number 4 products are vegan and free of gluten, sulfates, and parabens.

I’ve received a few Number 4 samples in the past and I’ve really liked them, though the cost is higher than I prefer to pay for hair products. I am headed to Newfoundland in August and will be packing this for sure! Great opportunity to put the frizz reducing “humidity resistance technology” to the test.

Gilchrist & Soames Spa Therapy Body Wash
44 ml | $3.35 (Full Size 236 ml | $18.00)

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewBIRCHBOX BREAKDOWN
We always feel refreshed after treating ourselves to a seaweed wrap—when we have the time and budget to get one. Now we can enjoy elements of the spa treatment during our daily scrub down: This body wash from Gilchrist & Soames is loaded with extracts of Japanese sea wrack. The natural formula hydrates and reinvigorates skin, and leaves behind a fresh aqualeaf and citrus scent.

HOW IT WORKS
This moisturizing cleanser forms a rich foam to pamper and gently cleanse. Nourishing vitamins and minerals in Japanese sea wrack smooth and refresh skin. Even better? Absolutely no phthalates, mineral oils, parabens, or petrol-derived materials are a part of the formula.

I used this up within the first few days of getting the box. I absolutely loved it and will be looking to buy the full size once I’m out of my current body wash.

BeeKind™ Body Lotion
44 ml | $3.50 (Full Size – 236 ml | $19.00)

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewBIRCHBOX BREAKDOWN
Taking a personal timeout to apply moisturizer is always an act of kindness toward our skin. But BeeKind™’s products let us show some TLC to ourselves and the world at large. Made with natural skin conditioners like honey and organic chamomile, this natural hydrator absorbs instantly without greasy residue, leaving behind a zesty lemon verbena scent. Plus, every BeeKind™ purchase helps support a healthier honeybee population, which in turn supports a greener, more sustainable planet.

HOW IT WORKS
This fast-absorbing formula comes to you free of parabens, phthalates, petrol-derived ingredients, mineral oil, urea, DEA, TEA, and propylene glycol, but chock full of proven hydrators like honey, organic chamomile, and Brassica plant extract. In place of petrochemicals, there’s good old-fashioned soybean and cottonseed oil for an added moisture boost. On the eco-friendly front, a portion of the proceeds from every BeeKind™ purchase goes toward the Honey Bee Research Program at the University of California at Davis, and, on top of that, the packaging is recyclable.

I haven’t used this yet because I’m saving it for my travel bag, but I love the light, lemony scent. I’m a big fan of the fact that they support honey bee research too!

Raw Spirit Fragrances Desert Blush Eau de Parfum
1 ml | $6.00 (7.5ml | $50.00)

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewBIRCHBOX BREAKDOWN
Inspired by the Western Australian desert, this floral scent definitely brings the heat. It’s based around Australian boronia, a tiny pink blossom known for its sweet, citrusy aroma. Other notes include jasmine petals and violets mixed with warm musk, cedarwood, and sustainably harvested Australian sandalwood. The resulting fragrance is equal parts romantic and airy. Bonus: A portion of all sales helps support sustainable agricultural projects among Indigenous Australians.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a big fan of parfum’s because they are extremely concentrated and I find them overwhelming. I also work in a scent reduced environment so it’s not something I could wear on a regular basis. I also found it to be very musky and not the sort of fragrance I would reach for in the summer… but I know scents work differently for different people and some of the reviews out there are quite positive.

LAQA & Co. Sheer Lip Lube Pencil – Menatour
0.05 oz | $12.50 (Full size – 0.1oz | $25.00)

May 2015 Birchbox ReviewMay 2015 Birchbox ReviewMay 2015 Birchbox ReviewBIRCHBOX BREAKDOWN
LAQA & Co. aims to arm women everywhere with not only the highest quality lip and nail products possible, but also the most convenient lip and nail products possible. From a day of errands to a friend of a friend’s house party to an impromptu selfie, this easy-to-use lip pencil provides high gloss and sheer color, no sharpener required.

HOW IT WORKS
Unlike some glosses that simply provide a nice shine, this lip lube channels softening shea butter, which moisturizes and fills in any unsightly lines, and is infused with refreshing mint. Available in an array of wearable, softly pigmented shades.

So I think my definition of sheer is a bit different than theirs, and this shade isn’t something I’ll probably ever wear… but oh my gosh the formula is fantastic – seriously like butter. I love the packaging, I love the mint scent and sensation… I will absolutely be picking up some less in-your-face shades once my no-buy is over.

——— ♥ ———

Like I said at the beginning, nothing ground breaking… but nothing awful either. Apparently this month there was supposed to be a full size Eyeko eyeliner… which then didn’t end up happening because it was held up at the border – yikes! Hopefully it’ll be in next month’s though since I’ll be getting that one ♥

I’ve cut down significantly on my subscriptions and I miss them so I’d love to know… what is your favorite monthly subscription?

4 thoughts on “may 2015 birchbox review

  1. Okay so I got to the picture of the Lip Lube (sadly, the only thing that interested me cuz it was makeup and I was like wow that’s a good shot.

    Then I scrolled one shot down and it’s your lips in all their voluptuous lipsticked glory. Honestly. Lovely application and fantastic shot. As I said day one from guesting on you, your photography intimidates me! Luscious!

    1. aw thank you so much Chelle. ♥ I joke when people ask me to take pictures that I’m only good at taking pics of things on my white blanket. Yeah the rest of the box was pretty boring – I think most of them have been really skin/haircare heavy, I’ve read a few reviews of people dropping their subscription after the eyeko issue in the june box.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *